Skip to Content

About The Hague, Netherlands Program

The Hague program is a USAC partnership program. Learn more about on-site program elements and the city itself below.

About The Hague

  • Population: approx. 709,000
  • Distance from Amsterdam: 40 miles
  • Distance from Paris: 295 miles

People walking the historic streets of The Hague, Netherlands.

The Hague lies on the North Sea and is a modern and sophisticated city, being one of four United Nation cities in the world. It is also one of the greenest cities in Europe, buzzing with outdoor activity and an abundance of recreational facilities. It is rich in history and is the home of the central government and the Royal family. The Netherlands was one of the six founding members of the European Union, and The Hague is often referred to as The International City of Peace and Justice. It is home to the International Criminal Court, Peace Palace, War Crimes Tribunal, and Europol. Throughout the city, each square, street, and boulevard has its own ambiance. Step outside of town and find the Holland Flower Auction, where 80 percent of the flowers sold are exported around the world. Or sit on the sandy beaches, soaking in the sun at Kijkduin and Scheveningen.

Quick Details

2024-25 Application Cycle

  • Fall/Yearlong 2024-25: Open
    • Deadline: April 1
  • Spring 2025: Open
    • Deadline: Oct 1


  • Minimum GPA: 2.7
  • Minimum class standing: Sophomore

Program Type




Program Capacity

15 students



Passport & Visa

Passport & Visa Information